Definition of Earthquake. Meaning of Earthquake. Synonyms of Earthquake

Here you will find one or more explanations in English for the word Earthquake. Also in the bottom left of the page several parts of wikipedia pages related to the word Earthquake and, of course, Earthquake synonyms and on the right images related to the word Earthquake.

Definition of Earthquake

Earthquake
Earthquake Earth"quake`, n. A shaking, trembling, or concussion of the earth, due to subterranean causes, often accompanied by a rumbling noise. The wave of shock sometimes traverses half a hemisphere, destroying cities and many thousand lives; -- called also earthdin, earthquave, and earthshock.
Earthquake
Earthquake Earth"quake`, a. Like, or characteristic of, an earthquake; loud; starling. The earthquake voice of victory. --Byron.

Meaning of Earthquake from wikipedia

- An earthquake – also called a quake, tremor, or temblor – is the shaking of the Earth's surface resulting from a sudden release of energy in the lithosphere...
- Earthquakes are caused by movements within the Earth's crust and uppermost mantle. They range from events too weak to be detectable except by sensitive...
- and over 1,100 were injured in the earthquake. It is the strongest earthquake in Taiwan since the 1999 Jiji earthquake, with several aftershocks above Mw...
- March 2011, at 14:46 JST (05:46 UTC), a Mw 9.0–9.1 undersea megathrust earthquake occurred in the Pacific Ocean, 72 km (45 mi) east of the Oshika Peninsula...
- On 6 February 2023, at 04:17 TRT (01:17 UTC), a Mw 7.8 earthquake struck southern and central Turkey and northern and western Syria. The epicenter was...
- April 18, 1906, the coast of Northern California was struck by a major earthquake with an estimated moment magnitude of 7.9 and a maximum Mercalli intensity...
- On 26 December 2004, at 07:58:53 local time (UTC+7), a major earthquake with a magnitude of 9.1–9.3 Mw struck with an epicentre off the west coast of northern...
- The 1960 Valdivia earthquake and tsunami (Spanish: Terremoto de Valdivia) or the Great Chilean earthquake (Gran terremoto de Chile) on 22 May 1960 was...
- On 1 January 2024, at 16:10 JST (07:10 UTC), a MJMA7.6 (Mw7.5) earthquake struck 6 km (3.7 mi) north-northeast of Suzu, located on the Noto Peninsula of...
- recent major earthquake was the 2024 Taiwan earthquake, and the most recent major earthquake with a high death toll was the 921 earthquake, which struck...